Hibernation - turn off - why? (except for capacity)

Discussion in 'SSD Beginners Guide and Discussion' started by tsw62, Jan 17, 2015.

1. tsw62

tsw62 New Member

Up front, I am a newbie here.
    Also I don't have a SSD yet, but will have purchase a SSD shortly.
    (Samsung 850 Pro 1TB)

The SSD Optimization Guide tells me to turn off the Hibernation.
    The guide gives a bit of background for all the other optimization elements (System Protection, Pagefile, etc.)
    but only tells me how to turn off hibernation, for capacity reasons.

A brief search for hibernation on Internation mostly are about turning it off.
    Only a few explain the use of it. Wikipedia, for example, explains the use of it.

I wonder: if SSD space isn't really an issue, does it then serves any purpose to turn it off, considering the
    'advantage' when it is turned on?

Thanks
    -

2. RebeccaRx

RebeccaRx New Member

SSD's have a limitation with regard to the number of write cycles (writes), usually around 3 years or longer. Well if you can afford to buy a new ssd drive, everytime it fails due to it reaching the base number of writes, then hibernation shouldn't really be an issue.

I think the guide is mainly focusing on the fact of prolonging the life of your SSD. I don't know if there are other optimization benefits aside from that. I think the guide is very helpful, and it covers the most basic areas for optimizing an SSD. I'd give the mods pizza for it, if I can. Lol

3. renosablast

renosablast Moderator Staff Member

Hibernation for an HDD is primarily about power savings. SSDs require significantly less power than an HDD, so that mitigates
    the "power-saving" "advantage". When, as Rebecca alluded to, you factor in extending your SSD's lifespan, even by a relatively
    small percentage, the scale tips in favor of disabling hibernation.